Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Clickjacking

Another warning for everyone who uses a computer to receive and send email, browse Web sites, and do anything that involves being connected with other people online:

Clicking on the "X" button to close a pop-up window can download malware onto your computer.

This is even done on Facebook pages, according to information a friend sent me, "to trick Facebook users into clicking on a play button of a video clip. Users do not realize that by trying to play the video clip, they are unwittingly saying that they like the clip or agreeing to an automatic monthly mobile phone charge..."

I checked Snopes.com to see what I could find out about this, and did not see this claim debunked, so I'm going to assume for now that it's true, and going to be very careful about watching all those hilarious and heartwarming videos all my friends are always posting!

1 comment:

Jeff Wynn said...

The Federal government requires about 6 hours of IT security training every year, called "FISSA", and this is DEFINITELY one of the things they warn us about. There is an Alt-F# (can't recall the #) that closes those malware windows safely. Best thing of all is NOT to play videos from someone who you don't know understands malware and IT security.
They may be the nicest people with the best of intentions, but they can drag you along the same path littered with doggie doos that they have been walking in...